Chickens in the Snow

November 8, 2012 § 3 Comments

snow2smallThe first snowflakes fell tonight in New England and I went out to hang with the girls in their coop. It’s starting to get pretty cold. I can’t help but worry about them, in my kind of lame, new-chicken-owner way. I worry they get too cold, even though i selected winter hardy breeds. I sat on their hay bale and one by one tucked them into my wool coat and warmed them up. Tatty fell asleep, Buffy looked comfy, Polly escaped and flew on top of my head. Luna wanted none of it and flew away. I came to terms with the fact that they’re not my farm animals- not only do i not have a farm, I only have four. I worry about them like I worry about any other creature I’m besotted with. They’re my outside pets. And if my neighbors looked out their window, they would’ve seen my sitting inside my lit chicken coop, with one girl on my head, another two sticking out of my coat and would’ve heard me singing to them. ┬áSo be it. I’m the crazy chicken lady.

§ 3 Responses to Chickens in the Snow

  • kathythechickenchick says:

    Hi Janna! Thank you for sharing this on my Facebook page today. What a gift you have!
    I would love it if you’d link up with us at my Clever Chicks Blog Hop!
    http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/11/clever-chicks-blog-hop-7-country-craft.html

    I hope to see you there!
    Cheers!
    Kathy
    The Chicken Chick

    • janac7 says:

      Hi Kathy!Thank you- and I’m glad you like the illustration! I love following your FB feed- it’s been super helpful as a newbie chicken lady!

  • anno says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by. My old blog hangs over me, like.. like what? like a ragged but beloved cloak: not quite part of my new life, not quite ready to be discarded. Honestly, I’m not sure I could ever give it away or cut myself free of it. It makes me happy to hear that you might have found something worth reading in it.

    Your illustrations, though: they glow. They are heat and heart and light and love on a winter night. Someone posted this one on facebook, and I’ve been hooked on your work ever since: it just hit me in the heart–WHAM! I was besotted.

    Surprised me, though, to learn that you do all this digitally. All this texture? All these dappled shades? Somehow I imagined sponges and wooden rakes, brushes and words like “gouache” and “resin.”It is surprising and wonderful to learn that these effects can be rendered digitally. Thanks for responding to my question. And best to you, your beautiful chickens, and every member of your most fortunate family.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chickens in the Snow at drawrings.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

